Maximum: 80 Marks

D 103843	(Pages : 2)	Name
		Reg. No

SECOND SEMESTER (CBCSS—UG) DEGREE EXAMINATION APRIL 2024

History

HIS 1 (2) C01—MODERN INDIAN HISTORY (1857 TO THE PRESENT) I

(2019—2023 Admissions)

Time: Two Hours and a Half

Answer can be written in English **or** Malayalam.

Only one language should be used throughout the answer script.

Section A (Short Answer Type)

Answer the questions in two **or** three sentences. Each question carries 2 marks.

- 1. Siraj-Ud-Daula.
- 2. Subsidiary System of Alliance.
- 3. Zamindari System.
- 4. Sanyasi Revolt.
- 5. Nana Sahib.
- 6. Arya Samaj.
- 7. Aruvippuram Installation.
- 8. Safety Valve Theory.
- 9. A.O.Hume.
- 10. Drain Theory.
- 11. Swadeshi.
- 12. All India Muslim League.

Turn over

2 **D 103843**

- 13. Surat split.
- 14. Home Rule League.
- 15. Ghadar party.

(Ceiling 25 Marks)

Section B (Problem Type)

Answer the questions in 100 words. Each question carries 5 marks.

- 16. Explain the significance of Battle of Plassey.
- 17. Write on the importance of Kurichiya Revolt.
- 18. Explain the 'Doctrine of Lapse'.
- 19. Assess the activities of Ramakrishna Mission.
- 20. Comment on the political ideology of the Moderates.
- 21. Examine the effects of Partition of Bengal.
- 22. Assess the role of Press in the growth of nationalism.
- 23. Bring out the importance of Lucknow pact.

(Ceiling 35 Marks)

Section C (Essay Type)

Answer any **two** of the following questions. Each questions carries 10 marks.

- 24. Critically examine the nature of the Revolt of 1857.
- 25. Analyse the social background to the rise of Indian nationalism.
- 26. Explain the economic critique of colonialism as developed by Indian Nationalists.
- 27. Briefly explain the Minto- Morely reforms of 1909.

 $(2 \times 10 = 20 \text{ marks})$

D 103843-A	(Pages : 4)	Name
		Rog No

SECOND SEMESTER (CBCSS—UG) DEGREE EXAMINATION APRIL 2024

History

HIS1(2)C01—MODERN INDIAN HISTORY (1857 TO THE PRESENT)—I (2019—2023 Admissions)

(Multiple Choice Questions for SDE Candidates)

Time: 15 Minutes Total No. of Questions: 20 Maximum: 20 Marks

INSTRUCTIONS TO THE CANDIDATE

- 1. This Question Paper carries Multiple Choice Questions from 1 to 20.
- 2. The candidate should check that the question paper supplied to him/her contains all the 20 questions in serial order.
- 3. Each question is provided with choices (A), (B), (C) and (D) having one correct answer. Choose the correct answer and enter it in the main answer-book.
- 4. The MCQ question paper will be supplied after the completion of the descriptive examination.

HIS1(2)C01—MODERN INDIAN HISTORY (1857 TO THE PRESENT)—I

(Multiple Choice Questions for SDE Candidates)

1.	Who fo	unded the Brahmo Samaj ?		
	(A)	Ram Mohan Roy.		
	(B)	Bankim Chandra Chatterjee.		
	(C)	Devendra Nath Tagore.		
	(D)	None of the above.		
2.	Who w	as the Viceroy of India at the estab	lishm	ent of the Indian National Congress?
	(A)	A.O Hume.	(B)	Lord Canning.
	(C)	Lord Dufferin.	(D)	Lord Dalhousie.
3.	Lord V	Wellesley came to India as Governo	r Gen	neral in ——— ?
	(A)	1773.	(B)	1858.
	(C)	1798.	(D)	1935.
1.	'India '	Wins Freedom' was written by —		
	(A)	Bipan Chandra.	(B)	Sumit Sarkar.
	(C)	Moulana Abul Kalam Azad.	(D)	Harry Collins.
5.	SND	P Yogam was founded in —		·
	(A)	1905.	(B)	1903.
	(C)	1888.	(D)	1893.
3.	Which	was the first news paper in India?		
	(A)	Hicky's Bengal Gazette.	(B)	Rajya Samachar.
	(C)	Sambad Kaumudi.	(D)	The Hindu.
7.	Home Movem		on t	the lines of ———— Home Rule
	(A)	Irish.	(B)	British.
	(C)	American.	(D)	None of the above.

	Where was the first session of Indian National Congress held in 1885?			
	(A)	Poona.	(B)	Calcutta.
	(C)	Bombay.	(D)	Agra.
9.	Who w	as the first non-Indian president o	f India	n National Congress?
	(A)	George Yule.	(B)	Annie Besant.
	(C)	Lord Dufferin.	(D)	None of the above.
10.	Who o	f the following was not among the	chief a	architects of Swadeshi Movement?
	(A)	Arobindo Ghosh.	(B)	M.K .Gandhi.
	(C)	Bal Gangadhar Tilak.	(D)	Bipin Chandrapal.
11.	Who se	t-up Swadesh Bandhab Samiti to	propag	gate the Swadeshi Movement?
	(A)	Surendra Nath Banerjee.	(B)	Rabindranath Nath Tagore.
	(C)	G.K Gokhale.	(D)	Ashwini Kumar Dutt.
12.	The Na	nujawan Bharat Sabha was found	led by	
	(A)	Bhagat Singh.	(B)	Kesab Chandra Sen.
	(C)	Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan.	(D)	None of the above
13.	Manga	Pandey was executed on —		
	(A)	18 th April 1857.	(B)	29 th March 1857.
	(A) (C)		(B) (D)	29 th March 1857. 8 th April 1857.
14.	(C)	18 th April 1857.	(D)	8 th April 1857.
14.	(C)	18 th April 1857. 21 st April 1857.	(D)	8 th April 1857.
14.	(C) Which	18 th April 1857. 21 st April 1857. among the following did not direct	(D)	$8^{ m th}$ April 1857. ness the revolt of 1857 ?
14. 15.	(C) Which (A) (C)	18 th April 1857. 21 st April 1857. among the following did not direct North India.	(D) Ely with (B) (D)	8 th April 1857. ness the revolt of 1857? Central India.
	(C) Which (A) (C)	18 th April 1857. 21 st April 1857. among the following did not direct North India. South India.	(D) Ely with (B) (D)	8 th April 1857. ness the revolt of 1857? Central India. All the above.

Turn over

16	The Ma	ahalwari settlement was introdu	ced chie	fly in the province of
10.	THE MA	anarwari settlement was introduc	ceu cine	my in the province of
	(A)	Madras.	(B)	Delhi.
	(C)	Bengal.	(D)	Bombay.
17.	Bhagat	Singh was assassinated on —		 -
	(A)	23 rd March 1931.	(B)	14 th April 1909.
	(C)	23 rd March 1933.	(D)	None of the above.
18.		was Gandhiji's	s presid	ential nominee, whom Subhash Chandra
	Bose de	efeated at Tripuri session of India	ın Natio	nal Congress ?
	(A)	Jawaharlal Nehru.	(B)	Pattabhi Sitaramayya.
	(C)	Madan Mohan Malavya.	(D)	None of the above.
19.	British	state took direct control of India	n admir	nistration through ———?
	(A)	Regulating Act of 1773.		
	(B)	Royal Proclamation of 1858.		
	(C)	Government of India Act of 190	09.	
	(D)	Government of India Act of 193	5.	
20.	Bhagat	Singh is also known as		
	(A)	Loka Manya.	(B)	Shaheed e Azam.
	(C)	Shaheed e Watan	(D)	None of the above